The Nuclear AMRC is owned by the University of Sheffield, but overseen by our industrial partner companies on a consortium basis. Operations are headed by the executive team of officers and directors. Strategy and research areas are determined with the guidance of the board of member companies.


Andrew Storer

Chief Executive Officer

Andrew Storer is responsible for leadership and strategy of the Nuclear AMRC. He joined in 2015 from Rolls-Royce’s civil nuclear business, and was appointed CEO from August 2017. He is also Visiting Professor of Nuclear Manufacturing and Capability Development at the University of Sheffield.

Professor Steve Jones

Chief Technology Officer

Steve Jones is responsible for the Nuclear AMRC’s technology strategy to ensure the centre delivers innovative and valuable technical solutions to the UK supply chain. He joined in 2017 from Coventry University’s Advanced Manufacturing and Engineering Institute.

Sean Eley

Commercial Director

Sean Eley is responsible for bringing business into the Nuclear AMRC and providing commercial leadership. He has over 30 years' experience in business development in a host of engineering sectors.

Jay Shaw

Programme Director

Jay Shaw joined the Nuclear AMRC’s machining group in 2011, leading the group before moving to business development and then to programmes. He is responsible for ensuring that the centre’s projects deliver the maximum value to the UK supply chain.

Jamie Nemeth

Business Manager

Jamie Nemeth provides strategic and operational support, focusing on strategy, performance management, resourcing and governance across the centre. He joined in 2018, and has over 20 years of business and financial management experience gained across multiple industry sectors.

Programme board

Mick Gornall, Cavendish Nuclear (chair)
Ali Siddiqui, Canadian Nuclear Laboratories
Paul Smith, Cavendish Nuclear
David Mallaburn, EDF
Marc Albert, EPRI
Ralf Gathmann, Framatome UK
Tim Gears
, Hexagon Manufacturing Intelligence
Simon Plumtree, ITW Welding Group
Samantha Bromiley, NDA
Tom Greatrex, NIA
Alan Woods, Rolls-Royce
Gareth Barker, Sheffield Forgemasters
Rob Muirhead, Ultra NCS
Lindsay Roche, Westinghouse UK
Martin Goodfellow, Nuvia (tier two representative)

Mike Smith, Dalton Nuclear Institute (research board chair)
Bob Bish
Gareth Headdock, NNL
Sarah Beacock, Nuclear Institute
Dave Atkinson, Sellafield Ltd
Kevin Burns, Sellafield Ltd